Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Missing Chocolate Bars!!

One of the frustrating things about being a coeliac is having to read labels every time you eat, looking for anything that contains wheat; specifically wheat startch or wheat flour (I have been told by a nutritionist that glucose from wheat is okay).

A large majority of chocolate bars contain wheat or gluten based products, making the number of chocolate bars that are okay to eat very minimal. Plain chocolate is gluten free but it doesnt have the same appeal as does the flavoured chocolate bars. Don't be fooled by the GF chocolate as it is more of a marketing ploy as plain chocolate doesn't contain gluten as does a small variety of flavoured chocolate. I have often selected a chocolate bar to eat and it is only after I have finished eating the bar that I read the ingredients and realise that it contains gluten. Then there is the side effects of eating gluten that don't nearly compensate for eating the chocolate!

What chocolate bars do you miss? I miss Frys Turkish Delight, Mars Bars, the chocolate bars that contain biscuits like Kit Kats, Violet Crumbles, the list goes on and on and on. I would really like to be able to go to the chocolate section in the supermarket and be able to pick whatever I was craving at the time, not what my coeliac disease dictated I can or more to the point cannot eat!

I would love for you to share your favourite chocolate or sweets that you miss eating, that has gluten and you can no longer eat.